Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Saturday 11 April 2015
Cambridge Corn Exchange - CB2 3QE
Penultimate concert in this year's Cambridge Classical Concert Series, with violinist Pinchas Zuckerman

Buy Tickets

Tickets are not on sale for this event yet.

PLEASE NOTE: The pre-concert talk due to take place at the City Hotel at 6.30pm with Dr James Day has been cancelled due to illness.

Conductor              Christoph Koenig

Violin                     Pinchas Zukerman

Beethoven              Symphony No. 3 'Eroica'

Elgar                      Violin Concerto in B minor


The astonishingly gifted, world-class violinist Pinchas Zukerman joins the Cambridge Corn Exchange's resident orchestra The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra for a concert featuring major works by Beethoven and Elgar.

Christoph Koenig conducts this penultimate concert in the 2014/15 Cambridge Classical Concert Series.  The evening opens with Beethoven's Symphony No. 3 ('Eroica'), a work which, in its ambition, unprecedented scale and emotional depth, heralded the beginning of the Romantic Era.  After the interval, the orchestra moves onto a piece which is widely regarded as the greatest English contribution to the treasury of Romantic violin concertos; Elgar's celebrated Violin Concerto in B minor, which Zuckerman performs with pure brilliance and élan.

Pre-concert talk at 6pm at Cambridge City Hotel, with local classical music expert James Day. Free of charge to concert ticket holders.

Want to receive free monthly classical updates from the Corn Exchange?  Sign up here today.Music education projects at Cambridge Corn Exchange

This concert is part of the 2014/15 Cambridge Classical Concert Series.

Media partners:




Event type: