Royal Philharmonic Orchestra - Nov 2018

Friday 30 November 2018
Cambridge Corn Exchange - CB2 3QE
Orchestral Series 2018/19

Buy Tickets

Friday 30 November 2018 19:30
Alexander Shelley conductor
Mariam Batsashvili piano
Kodály Dances of Galánta
Liszt Piano Concerto No. 1
Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 4
In 2014 Mariam Batsashvili became the first female in history to win the International Franz Liszt Piano Competition and it’s the dazzling virtuosity of Liszt’s glittering first concerto that she brings to this
The RPO’s Principal Associate Conductor Alexander Shelley opens the concert with Kodály’s five-movement suite, full of Hungarian folk tunes and robust rhythms. The performance climaxes with Tchaikovsky’s anguished Symphony No. 4, written during a time of turbulence for the composer, its warring emotions veering from fateful fanfares to poignant melancholy, before hurtling through a whirlwind finale.
Supported by

This show is part of our Orchestral Series 2018/2019

Event type:
Running time: