Philharmonia Orchestra - Feb 2019

Friday 1 February 2019
Cambridge Corn Exchange - CB2 3QE
Orchestral Series 2018/19

Buy Tickets

Friday 1 February 2019 19:30
Paavo Järvi conductor
Leticia Moreno violin
Beethoven Coriolan Overture
Mendelssohn Violin Concerto
Rachmaninov Symphony No. 2
“Formidable technique, compelling execution” words used by The Scotsman to describe the young Spanish violinist Leticia Moreno. Performing Mendelssohn’s masterful and beloved Violin Concerto, Moreno is sure to leave the audience in awe.
The concert opens with Beethoven’s darkly dramatic Coriolan Overture, inspired by Shakespeare’s uncompromising tragic hero. Completing the programme is Rachmaninov’s Second Symphony, his most expansive orchestral statement, which blends the composer’s matchless lyricism with orchestral might, not least in its irresistibly triumphant final movement.
Supported by

This show is part of our Orchestral Series 2018/2019

Event type:
Running time: