Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Thursday 9 June 2016
Cambridge Corn Exchange - CB2 3QE
Corn Exchange Orchestra in Residence

Buy Tickets

Tickets are not on sale for this event yet.

Conductor Nicholas Collon
Percussion Evelyn Glennie

Fauré Pelléas et Mélisande: Suite
Daugherty Dreamachine
Wiseman Party Games
RPO Resound Farm City, Found Sounds
Sibelius Symphony No. 5

Dame Evelyn Glennie joins the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra for an explosive performance of new works.

The final concert in the 15/16 Classical Series opens with Faure's four movement suite Pelléas et Mélisande. Dreamachine is a percussion concerto written for Dame Evelyn Glennie and this performance marks its UK premiere. Following this, Dame Evelyn Glennie lights up the stage with her special brand of percussive brilliance with a performance of Party Games, written by Debbie Wiseman (composer of BBC TV's Wolf Hall) in further tribute to the percussionist's 50th year.

Before the interval, students from Netherhall School in Cambridge will join the orchestra and Dame Evelyn on stage to perform Farm City, Found Sounds, a new 6-minute piece commissioned by Cambridge Live and RPO to celebrate Dame Evelyn's 50th birthday year. It takes inspiration from Dame Evelyn's own trailblazing journey from rural farm dweller to the world's first full-time professional solo percussionist. With the support of Cambridge Live, the piece was composed by the students over a series of workshops with RPO musicians and the RPO's Creative Leader Tim Steiner. This world premiere features students creating exciting new sounds, alongside members of the orchestra.

After the interval,  Sibelius’ sublime Symphony No.5 concludes the concert, and the series, triumphantly. 

Pre-concert talk: 6pm at Hilton Cambridge City Centre, delivered by Dr. John Hopkins from the University of Cambridge's Music Faculty - Free to concert ticket holders. 

Media partner:

Event type: