Russian State Symphony Orchestra - Oct 2018

Tuesday 9 October 2018
Cambridge Corn Exchange - CB2 3QE
Orchestral Series 2018/19

Buy Tickets

Tuesday 9 October 2018 19:30
Valentin Uryupin conductor
Barry Douglas piano
Khachaturian Masquerade Suite
Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No. 1
Shostakovich Symphony No. 5
Opening the Corn Exchange’s Orchestral season is a grand Russian tour through some of the country’s greatest composers, given by an orchestra who really know how to get under the skin of the music from their homeland.
The tour begins with Khachaturian’s exuberant Masquerade Suite and Rachmaninov’s vivacious Piano Concerto No. 1. It was first penned when the composer was just 18 and modelled on Grieg’s famous precursor, but its melodic strength and rhythmic agility set a marker for his later masterworks. Shostakovich’s powerful Fifth Symphony – heroic on the surface but borne along by darker emotional undercurrents – completes the journey.
Supported by

This show is part of our Orchestral Series 2018/2019

Event type:
Running time: